Tortoise and the Hare

My life is somewhat the story of the Tortoise and the Hare. I’m the Rabbit strung out on caffeine and sugar … and apparently in need of a Ritalin prescription. And I’m having less fun than the actual rabbit in the story. Meanwhile, life crawls along and crosses the finish line without me.

I don’t want to be the Rabbit anymore. 

Ohming the Hare: A New Perspective

  • You already KNOW all you NEED to know about losing weight…STOP buying and reading new diet books
  • Quit whining and make yourself unbored by changing things up…but just a little bit
  • If you’re frustrated, it’s okay to take a break or take a different path. But whatever you do, push to throw down instead of throw in the towel
  • You are the hardest opponent you will face in your lifetime. Know it, own it, and grow from it
  • QUIT STALLING and just friggin’ DO IT…half-assed will suffice if it’s the only alternatve you can muster to quitting
  • The scale is an evil bitch that will suck out ever last shred of hope and dignity when you go up against her. Minimal contact is the key to sanity
  • Why are you coping in the first place? Get off your ass and have some fun!
  • Do less in order to do more…it’s okay to say no. Doing less will give you time to follow-through with the things you REALLY DO WANT in your life
  • Only do the things that you REALLY LOVE to do…it’s okay to exclude albatross-like things from your life
  • Slow down, take your time, savor the moments 
I think the biggest thing here is that I need to learn to slow down. And in slowing down I’m starting to realize that I have an underlying vibe of panic coursing through my whole self. I think I’m spooked. I’m afraid. What’s going to get me if I do slow down?
One response to “Tortoise and the Hare

  • hopeshow

    Wow. Your words are powerful. Congrats on becoming the tortoise. (I think) Poetry played an integral role in my life change also. I would read tons of ralph waldo emerson poems and watch hopeshow.tv

You must be logged in to post a comment.

