“if i can do it, so can you” … worst case scenario?

How much do you hate that phrase? “If I can do it, so can you.” Or the other frequently spewed twist, “if i can do it, anyone can do it.”

I hate this phrase. With a passion.

I think it’s arrogant and completely out of touch with reality. It implies that the person uttering the phrase was the “worst case scenario” of their given struggle. It also implies that the solution to their struggle is one-size-fits-all. 

Those of you who have succeeded in whatever struggle you’ve faced, good for you. I celebrate your triumph. Truly.

But please don’t minimize the struggle other people are facing by likening it to yours and implying you had the bigger struggle.

Instead, can you just tell us “you can do it. I’ll help if you want.”

You must be logged in to post a comment.

