eating for real

Today at Diet Blog there is a post comparing a typical fast food breakfast to some home-cooked goodness. It got me thinking about when I was experiencing mucho success on my healthy lifestyle kick a few years ago. That kick worked because I was cooking most of my foods at home and avoiding fast food as much as possible.

I ate A LOT of food then too, but it was healthy and satisfying and cheaper than a cruise through the drive-through.

My breakfast looked like this:

1 c steel cut oats with a little flax, walnuts, cranberries and bran flakes thrown in (appx 200 cal)
2 egg whites, 1 whole egg with feta cheese and klamata olives – some days I’d add spinach and mushrooms (appx 150 cal)
A fruit of some sort (60-100 cal)
And my homemade latte with 8oz 1% milk, 2 shots of espresso and 1 tbsp of ghiradelli white chocolate powder (about 175 cal)

625 calories (wow!)

Lunch usually consisted of a meat and potato/grain left over from the night before and two servings of vegetables (usually about 500 calories). I’d have an afternoon snack of nuts or cheese sticks and a fruit (200 cal). And supper was usually another meat and grain cooked up with 2 servings of veg (again about 500 calories). Then I’d have a snack around 9pm consisting, usually, of frozen blueberries and plain yogurt (200 cal).

I lost 60 lbs eating that way. Breakfast was my most substantial meal of the day. I felt awesome. And knowing that I had a snack planned before bed helped me feel satisfied with my supper. And, I kinda suspect that having dairy in the evening was really helpful in my weight loss effort (though I have no science to back that suspicion).

So I’m trying to get back to that way of eating again. It was really satisfying and saved me money.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

