kicking it up a notch

So I’ve been under the weather the past couple of weeks with a bad cold, maybe a sinus infection and it’s finally starting to clear up. I’m down to some sniffles and coughing and feeling pretty good.

Anyway, I wanted to start the exercise goal off slowly, ease into it since I’ve been away from it for a solid, um, almost a year I guess (gah!). On monday’s trip to the Y I kept myself to a walk and pushed myself to go a mile. That took me about 20-25 minutes and then I stretched out about 10 min. And it was good.

Tonight I was feeling so good about Monday’s success that I decided to push myself a little more. I started with the intention of walking a mile again but decided to throw some intervals in there and run a few laps. I warmed up with 4 laps around the track at a walk, then I ran a lap, walked a lap, ran a lap, walked a lap, ran a lap, and then cooled down with the last 3 laps. And it was good. It was so good I decided to hop on the elliptical machine for 10 minutes, just to push myself a little further. And it was great. I spend about 10 minutes stretching out and declared my workout done. And Awesome!

I’m really proud of myself for pushing a little harder. I think I’ll probably stick with the same routine for Friday and then consider pushing myself a little more next Monday. Don’t want to overdo it and derail myself.

While I was at the gym on Monday I ran into the instructor for the jujitsu class that has started up. He was a student (sometimes instructor) when I was in hapkido, similar to jujitsu, off and on over the past 5 years.  I would really like to get into a martial art and become a black belt. So I’ve decided I’m going to join up with the class in February.

January is going to be my warm up/ease in month and then after that I’m kicking things into high gear.

Oh, and I’ve also decided to challenge myself by getting in good enough shape that I can make the minimum requirements to join up with the army. I’ll have to drop a lot of weight before I’d ever be eligible to join but if I can get my fitness to that level I’d be thrilled. I need to research the details a little more and see what exactly I need to be able to do.

For my other goals, I took my measurements today and am going to set up a spot on the site to track them. I’m still working on my kitchen and reading “The Sugar Solution.” Also still spending time in the word and connecting with God.

So I’m declaring yesterday and today a success. Hooyah!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

