kettlebells

kettlebellIn reading my fitness magazines over the past year I’ve noticed more and more reference to kettlebells.

It’s good to see these little canon balls gaining in popularity, especially since they’re a very effective workout. But I have to admit I feel a little territorial about them, I don’t totally like the idea of them going mainstream and being the latest fitness fad. 

But putting aside the territorial feelings, I have to recommend them as an awesome fitness tool. These little puppies are going to be a part of me achieving my army strong challenge and a key to my fat loss goals.

So here are a few things about kettlebells:

  • originated in Russia as early as the 1700’s (probably earlier)
  • made of cast-iron
  • looks like a canonball wth a handle
  • an all-around fitness tool
  • replaces barbells, dumbbells, belts for weighted pullups and dips, thick bars, lever bars, medicine balls, grip devices, and cardio equipment
  • if you’re overweight, they lean you out
  • if you’re skinny they add bulk
  • they develop strength, strength endurance, general endurance, work capacity and balance
  • they develop functional strength
  • they improve athletic performance

In reading this, it almost sounds like an infomercial. “This is the last piece of exercise equipment you’ll ever need! Buy now while supplies last!”

The reality of kettlebells is that you’re going to bust your ass making them work for you. They’re not for people who think pink dumbbells make them sweat too much. You’re going to be sucking air and dripping sweat with these mothers…and it rocks. 

Learn more about kettlebells here:

4 responses to “kettlebells

  • chrisg82

    great article

  • Scott Stransky

    I love it! Have you continued on with them since this post? I started training with KB about 4 months ago with a local RKC II, and I’m absolutely addicted to them (so much so that I’ll be pursuing my own certification in April). What kinds of results have you achieved so far?

    • musajen

      I didn’t stick with them but I’ll be picking them up again tonight. In my on and off again bouts of working out with KB’s I’ve noticed results pretty quickly but for whatever reason I abandon them after about a month. I think it would be easier if there was a local group I could join. Sometimes I just don’t know where to start a workout, how long to make it, etc. If you have any tips I’d love to hear them!

      • Scott Stransky

        I can see how it’d be difficult to continue on if there’s no one around you to work out with. Perhaps there’s a meetup group of some sort, or you could start one?

        As for the workouts, I’ll be posting a sample of some of my workouts on my blog in the coming week or two. Feel free to use them or modify however you’d like. I usually walk out of the gym fully exhausted and drenched…so I know it’s a great workout!

        Keep up the good work. KB power! Heheh

        Scott
        http://fromfatness2fitness.wordpress.com/

        twitter: fatness2fitness

You must be logged in to post a comment.

