latest read: real food

I’m frequently starting books and half-way finishing them. In a new effort to finish what I start, I’m going to write about the books I read on Pick Up My Mat.

Yes, Virginia, you can butter your carrots. 

realfoodMy first book is titled Real Food by Nina Planck. Ms. Planck grew up on a vegetable farm eating vegetables, raw milk, red meat, bacon, and eggs with impunity. After trying to follow nutritional trends; vegetarian, vegan, low-fat, and low-cholesterol diets, with disappointing results, Planck started eating real food again and lost weight in the process and felt great. Planck created farmers’ markets in London and Washington, D.C. and ran New York City’s famous Greenmarket.

In Real Food, we get to read “the truth about the foods grandma praised but doctors call dangerous.”

Frankly, I’m psyched. I even spent the retail price on this book instead of ordering it off of amazon because I’m so psyched (plus I did have a gift card). This book is in keeping with my Rage Against the Diet Industry posts and I’m looking forward to more raging AND to getting my diet in line with what is good and natural and beneficial to my body.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

