step one: not helpless

We admitted that we were powerless over _____ (insert substance of choice) and that our lives had become unmanageable.

Admitting powerlessness can sometimes seem self-defeating. Strangely, as I’ve experienced before and long-time members remind me, you don’t really find your power until you surrender it. You become powerful by admitting powerlessness. The great paradox of a 12-Step Program.

When you find yourself able to lay aside your powerlessness, you gradually find that, while in the presence of your trigger substance, facing something that unhinges you, you are not helpless. 

Powerless is often equated with helpless. But we are not helpless in the face of our addiction. There is hope. There is help.

In the instance of OA, my 12-step program, I have a small group of people who understand how I think about food. I have a food plan that I strive to stick with. I have a commitment to abstaining from foods that trigger me to overeat. I have literature to read. I have prayer. I have my higher power to fall into when I can’t pull myself together.

There is help. There is hope.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

