yum: fav dessert

One of my favorite deserts, odd as it may be, is a thai dessert, mango and sweet rice. It is divine. A lovely combination of rice cooked in a coconut milk concoction and served with slices of mango. You have to find it in a thai restaurant and mango’s have to be in season (apparently late October they are out of season).

Being in the midwest (the real midwest in the middle of the country), thai restaurants are hard to come by. It’s been about 6 years since I’ve had sweet rice and mango from a restaurant. I’ve tried over the years to replicate this in my own kitchen and I’ve come close, but it’s just not quite there.

But now I may have stumbled upon a happy compromise. Coconut milk blended with mango chunks. If you use frozen mango chunks, you end up with a nice ice cream like dessert. It’s pretty good. I went without adding sugar to it since I’m trying to minimize the amount of sugar I consume. But coconut milk is quite sweet on it’s own so it was tasty.

So now, when the yen hits for some mango and sweet rice, I can at least partially satisfy it with a little coconut milk and mango blend. Mmmm.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

