main course: chicken a l’orange

This recipe is fairly tasty on it’s own so I’m going to provide the original. Then I’m going to share my modification to it.

Ingredients

  • 4…60z skinless chicken breast halves
  • 2/3 cup sliced yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup orange marmalade
  • 1/4 cup frozen orange juice concentrate
  • 1/2 tsp grated orange zest

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Coat a nonstick skillet w/oil or cooking spray and heat. Add chicken and onion and cook over medium-high heat, meat side down, for 2-3 minutes, until chicken is lightly browned and onions are slightly translucent. Transfer Chicken to a baking dish and spoon onions over chicken.

In a small bowl, mix together marmalade, orange juice concentrate, and orange zest. Spoon 2 tbsp over each chicken breast. Bake, uncovered, for 20 minutes.

Goes well with the Cauliflower and Carrots with Nutmeg recipe.

Now to tinker with the recipe.

I hate onions, therefore I don’t use them in this recipe (or many others). For flavor I use Mustapha’s Moroccan Spice Melange #2 – Poultry & Pork. It’s a blend of Moroccan spices that compliment poultry and pork and it is delish. The instructions on the bottle recommend marinating your chicken or poultry in it with a little salt, olive oil, and minced garlic. 

I marinate my chicken breasts in this seasoning and cook them up as the directions above state. 

For the marinade, I skip the orange zest because the marmalade I buy already has zest in it. Then I bake it per the directions above.

It’s amazingly good.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

