skip-ity-do-dah

A friend sent me an Ole and Lena joke today that makes me go har, har, har (and then promptly roll my eyes… most Ole and Lena jokes do that to me).

Here it is . . . 

Norwegian Diet 

Ole and Lena had really ‘packed on the pounds’ by overeating during Christmas and the New Year’s Holidays, so their doctor put them on the same diet.

‘I want you to eat regularly for 2 days, then skip a day, and repeat this procedure for 2 weeks. The next time I see you, you should have lost at least 5 pounds.’

When the Norwegians returned, they shocked their doctor by having lost nearly 25 POUNDS each.

‘Why, that’s positively amazing!’ the doctor said. ‘Did you follow my instructions?’

Then Ole and Lena nodded and said. . . .

‘We vant to tell you though, we taut we was gonna drop dead dat 3rd day.’

‘From hunger, you mean?’

‘No, yust from all dat skippin’!

Har, har, har.

In spite of the eye-rolling silliness, it does make me harken back to the days of recess when I skipped around the playground, played hopscotch, or jumped rope with a group of girls. I was actually getting pretty good at double-dutch when I had to transfer to another school and start over with a new group of classmates (being shy, it took me a long time to find jump rope buddies again). 

Okay, and honestly, once I hit 4th grade, my obsession with horses sorta took over my common sense and I became the weird girl who pretended she was a horse during recess. Thankfully, I had a friend that played along, but somehow she remained cool and popular and I was given a dumb nickname and teased regularly.

But that’s beside the point. 

I was an active kid on the playground (even though I hated recess). Back then, play was a natural part of my day. I remember getting my first 10-speed bike around 7-yrs of age and I rode that thing relentlessly. I was even good enough that I rode free hand and could turn onto new streets just by leaning with my body and never touching the handlebars. I was awesome.

About the time my playful activities started to decline, my weight began an upward trend. Huh, this is the first time I’ve ever really thought this through . . . .

Anyway, this is a timely topic because over at Mark’s Daily Apple he’s talking about introducing the concept of play back into your everyday life.  

Play is a much more appealing way to be active. It’s time to dust off the racquetball racquet.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

