breakfast: coconut pancakes

Over the weekend I gave the Coconut Pancakes recipe a whirl, found over at Primal Fusion.

Um…YUM!

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 3 tbsp coconut flour
  • 3 tbsp coconut milk
  • 3 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt 
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder 
  • Melted coconut oil and butter on medium heat in a pan

Okay, Betty Crocker, I’m not.

When I started pulling out the ingredients to whip up the batter, I realized I’d run out of baking powder a couple weeks prior. So to compensate, I used heaping tablespoons of coconut flour.

Then, after struggling and struggling to squeeze honey out of my bottle, I unscrewed the top and examined it…crystallized…not moving. So I had to scoop it out and microwave it to heat it up and get it to a consistency where I could mix it in with the rest of the batter.

I also realized something about coconut oil, this being the first time I’d used it. It’s solid, like lard…not actually an oil that you just drizzle into your pan or easily whisk into your batter. So that went into the microwave to melt.

Once I had all my ingredients blended into the batter my pan was a little too hot so my pancakes came out slightly black in some areas. And they were a little dry because of overcompensating with the coconut flour.

I also didn’t use as much honey as they called for but they were still nicely sweet. Next time I might forgo the honey in the batter and drizzle it over the pancakes for some “syrup.” Yeah, I really like that idea.

I’ve definitely got some tweaking to do with the recipe, er, maybe more so tweaks of my pantry and cooking methods but I’ll definitely be trying it again and I highly recommend it.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

