lunch: strawberry salad

First, a confession: I HATE salad. It’s the lettuce. And maybe the whole reputation salads have of being a diet staple. Boo salads! Especially the plain ol’ iceburg lettuce. I cringe from the stuff, haunted by all the salads I’ve choked down on my quest to leanness (still haven’t arrived).

But a couple years ago I saw a recipe for a salad in a health magazine that sounded yum. Turns out it was divine. And if you add a little meat it’s primal!

The basic ingredients:

  • Lettuce (use heartier varieties or spinach)
  • Mushrooms (pick your fav)
  • Strawberries (sliced)
  • Feta Cheese
  • Calamata Olives
  • Walnuts
  • Balsamic Vinegar and Oil

My Additions:

  • Avacado
  • Chicken
  • Spinach (instead of lettuce)

Last night for dinner I grilled up some chicken breasts with a tandoori sauce and I used the leftovers in the salad. It was an excellent addition. And the avocado adds a nice mild buttery flavor that I adore.

The salad is tangy, sweet, and with the tandoori chicken, a little spicy. Plus you’ve got the feta and olives giving off their own tangy/sour vibe and it’s scrum-diddly-umptious. Food-gasm in my mouth. OHHH YEEEESSSSSS!!!!!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

