snack: coconut chocolate sauce

Paleo Girl threw a recipe for coconut chocolate sauce up on her blog the other day so I decided to give it a try. 

I had half a can of coconut left after making up an amazing coconut chicken recipe (will share that recipe later) so I dropped the remaining coconut milk in a saucepan and threw in about 1/3 cup of 60% Ghiradelli chocolate baking chips. I turned it on medium heat and stirred it together as it melted. In a moment of inspiration I decided to add a little cinnamon at the end but I’m not sure I liked that addition.

I washed up a cup of strawberries and sat back and munched down on the chocolate/strawberry goodness. I wasn’t completely thrilled with this first batch. I guess I was expecting it to be a little sweeter (harkening back to the days I’d microwave a few milk and white chocolate chips and add cinnamon and dip). 

The good thing about this recipe is that I don’t even want to overdo it so It’s something I’ll definitely try again. I’ll experiment with some other dark chocolate and leave out the cinnamon and hopefully have a good experience with it.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

