organic dairy & a health food store adventure

Recently I ventured through the doors of one of our local health food stores. It’s a smaller store and is run by a woman and her daughter. I was in there a couple years ago and the owner talked my ear off and talked me into spending money on products I never did use.

I was hesitant to return.

But I remember that they carried Nutiva brand oils and I wanted to see if they had coconut oil. I took a chance and ventured in. An hour later I walked out, ear talked off, but elated at my finds; a lot of coconut products, and organic raw cheeses, butters, and organic milk.

I’ve never been a milk drinker (eww!) but after reading the Real Food chapter on dairy, I was intrigued about what real milk might taste like (or as real as we can legally purchase it in my state).

farmers'So I bought a half gallon of their whole, grass-fed, vat-pasteurized, non-homogenized milk. It’s a brand called Farmers’ All Natural Creamery and when I had my first taste, I was stunned. What was this sweet, creamy fluid that my taste buds were demanding more of?

NO WAY could this be milk! I drank the first half gallon in 3 days. I’m on my second now and trying to pace myself. Dear Lord this stuff is heaven!

Now I know milk isn’t technically primal, so I’m going to have to decide if this is an indulgence I’ll continue to allow.

Milk naturally has a high sugar content, around 8 grams, so I can see myself going overboard with it (I’ve considered chugging the bottle dry in one sitting). But then, if I can rein it in, 8 grams of sugar isn’t horrible, especially since it’s a whole food – at least that’s my justification.

I guess we’ll see what I do with this.

I also tried the raw cheddar cheese and YUM. It’s aged right around a year so it’s not real extravagant, wish I could find older cheese in my area (will keep searching) but it has a good sharp flavor and is delish with an apple.

Things I’m looking forward to stocking up on from my new favorite store: unsweetened shredded coconut, coconut oil, coconut flour, powdered coconut milk, raw cacao (powdered and bits). 

And supposedly the owner of the health food store has a recipe for making a chocolate mouse with avocado’s. Sounds yum, but not exactly primal. Though she cooks with avocado all the time so I’m hoping to pick up some recipes from her.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

