fasting

One aspect of being primal is intermittent fasting. The idea stems from the fact that our primal hunter/gatherer ancestors most likely went for short periods of time without food. Maybe prey evaded them for a day or two and vegetation was scarce.

The point being is that fasting was a normal experience of the hunter/gatherer and it’s not something we should be afraid of either.

In a newsletter called ‘The Primal Blueprint Insider” (a supplemental newsletter from Mark’s Daily Apple for those who have purchased The Primal Blueprint), Mark challenged his readers to skip their next meal. I read that around 6:30 am this morning and took it as a sign that I should skip my next meal. I’d been pondering that very thing the evening before.

So I skipped breakfast. And it was good. I was slightly hungry, but it was a hunger that kept me alert and focused, probably a necessary survival mechanism for our hunter/gatherer ancestors. 

I broke my fast with lunch and have continued with normal mealtimes since then, however I think this will become a regular habit. I enjoyed the freedom of not having to cook and the alertness was a great side-effect. Eventually I will work up to day long fasts but in the meantime, I’ll stick with missing an occasional meal until I’m more confident in my primal journey.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

