recipe: Spinach, Artichoke, & Mushroom Strata

A couple months ago I was in a town that had a several Starbucks with a nice selection of quiches and strata’s. I gave their Spinach & Artichoke Strata (or Quiche, one place called it a Strata, one a Quiche) a try and fell in L-O-V-E. It was DIVINE.

So upon returning home I set out to find a recipe that could compare and that could be made primal, and I think I’ve come pretty close (Yeah!). So here we go with a strata (meaning layers)…quiche

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 package of mushrooms (about 2 cups)
  • salt & pepper to taste
  • 1 tsp nutmeg
  • 8 oz. spinach (fresh or frozen)
  • 1 can of artichoke hearts
  • 10 eggs
  • 1 cup heavy whipping cream
  • 2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 1-2 cups Italian blend cheese

Directions:

  1. Finely chop onions, melt butter in a frying pan with nutmeg, add onions and mushrooms and saute until softened. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  2. If using frozen spinach, defrost and squeeze any excess liquid from the spinach. If using fresh, saute with onions and mushrooms until softened. Set aside.
  3. Open up your can of artichoke hearts and cut off the ends. You may need to peel the first layer of the hearts off as they can be a little difficult to chew. Separate the layers or lightly chop. Set aside.
  4. In a separate bowl mix eggs, whipping cream, and dijon mustard.
  5. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  6. In a casserole dish, begin layering your veggies. Lay down a layer of the onion/mushroom mix, put spinach and artichokes on top, then sprinkle the layers with some of your italian cheese blend.
  7. Continue layering until all veggies are used. I usually only get 2 layers.
  8. Pour the egg mixture over the top of your layers.
  9. Cook for 45-55 minutes, until you can pierce the center with a toothpick and it comes out clean (I usually do 55 minutes).
  10. Slice and serve.

For variation, you could also add bacon or pork sausage. Also, I’m not really sure if the nutmeg adds much flavor so feel free to experiment with other flavorings. I’d love to hear what spices you like. Personally I love the dijon mustard and I don’t actually measure how much I add – I point and squirt until I think I’ve got enough (might actually be closer to 4 tbsp).

This freezes and reheats well for meals through the week. Adding the bacon or sausage makes it a good dinner option (who doesn’t love breakfast dinners?).

One more thing, this is crustless but a crust could be made easily using a little butter and some almond meal. I’ve done that before but to save energy I opted to go with crustless.

If you’re not permitting dairy in your primal/paleo diet, this probably isn’t the best recipe for you. Remember when buying your dairy to get as close to raw as you can – it’s so much better.

Thanks and enjoy!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

