recipe: Coconut Masala Chicken

This is a recipe inspired by a garam masala spice blend I picked up almost a year ago. I finally got around to using it in April and have slowly refined the recipes these past few months. I think it has finally turned out perfect:

Ingredients:

  • 4 boneless, skinless Chicken Breasts (tenderloins also work well)
  • 2 tbsp Coconut Oil
  • 1-2 tbsp Garam Masala (the more the spicier)
  • 1/4 cup White Wine (or to taste)
  • 1/2 can of Coconut Milk (or to taste)
  • 2 tbsp Lemongrass (I use Gourmet Gardens Lemongrass Herb Blend)
  • 1 package Frozen Peas

Directions:

  1. Slice up chicken breasts into 1/2 inch thick strips or if using tenderloins, use whole.
  2. Melt coconut oil in saute pan over medium-high heat.
  3. Add chicken and garam masala to pan. Brown.
  4. When browned and most liquid is cooked out, add white wine.
  5. Add lemongrass and blend in with white wine.
  6. Add coconut milk and stir.
  7. Add peas, cover, and reduce heat to low.
  8. Let cook for 10-20 min until peas are heated through and chicken is no longer pink in the middle.
  9. Serve and enjoy!

This goes well over cauliflower or cauliflower rice. There is some debate over wether or not peas are primal. I guess technically they are a legume so it’s up to you if you want those in your primal diet. They’re something I’ve decided to include occasionally in my diet and they usually make their appearance with this recipe. Of course, they are optional to this dish and could easily be substituted with some other vegetable.

Hope you like! I’ll try to get pictures added to my recipes in the future.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

