worst case scenario fitness

Part of my motivation for FINALLy getting my ass in shape is so that, if it comes down to it, I can survive our country collapsing. If something catastrophic disintegrates American society as we know it, would I have the know-how and ability to survive in it? darkangel2

This might be a little over-dramatic, but at the same time, I’d rather be prepared and capable than caught unaware and unable. There have been a collection of things that have gotten me thinking along these lines over the past several years…

What started me thinking about this again today was a post over on the MDA Forum titled “Can You Save Your Own Life.” The MDA Forum post talks about a blog post by a guy called Matt Furey (posted on June 27, 2009 and called Can You Save Your Own Life? – for some reason I can’t link to it?). But the post revolved around the following quote by Earle E. Liederman (“a renowned fitness pioneer back in the days of Charles Atlas).

Every man should be able to save his own life. He should be able to swim far enough, run fast and long enough to save his life in case of emergency and necessity.

First I need to add to that…I think every woman should be able to saver her own life too. I think it’s smart and that it’s very possible if something were to happen, we shela’s wouldn’t necessarily have a man to depend on. So, yeah, I want to be able to save my own life (and the lives of friends and family).

Thinking about this reminded me of the following article called Natural Fitness: Wild Workouts with the World’s Fittest Man. Then there’s also the following video…

And then there’s the whole Parkour movement.

How awesome would it be to move like that? How amazing to bound up and ricochet off walls. These guys look like monkeys the way they scale buildings and I’m completely and utterly in AWE.

I think I’m going to institute a Worst Case Scenario Fitness regimen into my workouts. I’m still pushing the Army Strong challenge (I’m up to 30 girly push-ups and 25 sit-ups) but that is more of a fitness goal than a regimen. And I’m pretty sure that my Worst Case Scenario Fitness regimen will only serve to push me closer to success with the Army Strong challenge.

So I’m going to work on developing this fitness regimen over the next week and see where it takes me. I’m psyched.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

