quickie update

Let’s see, so I’m about 2 weeks into the Primal Blueprint Challenge and I’m really enjoying it. I haven’t kept myself under 50g of carbs every day (have allowed a sort of ‘cheat day’ each week) but I keep myself mostly to right around 50g of carbs – give or take 10g (at least I’m guessing at that – haven’t been tracking it faithfully since that first week).Patty_Pan_Squash

Two weeks ago I discovered a new Farmer’s Market that has started up in town and I’m so psyched about it. My favorite find there so far has been patty pan squash. It’s delish. My favorite way to prepare it so far is to fry up a couple strips of bacon, quarter the squash in the pan, sprinkle some salt and pepper, saute, and then add some fresh basil leaves (shredded) at the end. Put them on your plate almost immediately and chow down.

The taste is really mild, like most other squashes, specifically zucchini or summer squash. But with the bit of bacon and basil, it’s so yummy.

So I’ve been eating a lot of squash for my vegetables and eating a lot of meat and eggs. I feel really good when I’m eating this way and I’ve lost 3.5 lbs so I’m really psyched about that. I’m at a weight that I haven’t seen in 2 years so…happy day! Since starting to dabble in this new way of eating I’ve dropped (depending on what number I start with) as much as 14 lbs. Yeah progress!

Today was one of those cheat days and I’m having a bit of an attack of acid reflux symptoms. I don’t have these when I’m eating Primal so I must get right back to eating that way again.

So to sum up – try patty pan squash and eat primal because you’ll feel great and lose weight!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

