6 week cure

So I’m officially going to try the 6 Week Cure for the Middle Aged Middle written by the Drs Eades (also responsible for Protein Power and a plethora of other books). My folks and I are squaring off starting December 1 and tackling our middles with a huge supply of protein powder and some delish chunks of meat.

Something to note – I’m not quite middle-aged. But I need a kick-start to get my diet back on track and I’m hoping a nice little weight loss and a strict low-carb induction period will help me transfer back to a perfectly primal way of eating. I might suggest to the folks that we put a little wager down to sweeten the incentive – though I’m a little leery because of the added pressure that will inflict. Me and pressure, especially where weight is concerned, don’t meld well.

So anyway, “The Cure” as I’ll refer to it from now on, starts out on a two week slim-fast-like meal plan. You consume 3 protein shakes through the day using the Eades special Power-Up Protein Shake recipe and then you consuming one whole meal that is heavy on the protein. This is phase one.

Phase 2 involves a meat intensive meal plan – animal product heavy with some yummy veggies worked in. There might be fruits too but I need to go back and review that before phase 2 starts up. Phase 2 also lasts two weeks.

After Phase 2, you can either jump back to Phase 1 (if you have more middle to lose) or continue into Phase 3 where you eat for maintenance. I’ll be dwelling in Phase’s 1 & 2 for a while. 🙂

Things I’m looking forward to:

  • The simplicity of 3 shakes a day
  • Cooking just 1 meal a day

Things I’m not looking forward to:

  • Forgoing eggs and berries in the morning (though it does look like I can use berries in my shakes
  • Doing this on the verge of Christmas – there’s a few parties I’ll be working around
  • A general foreboding about eating less “food”

Tomorrow starts The Cure. Yeah for the simplicity. It’s only two weeks of going without normal food consumption so I’m hopeful I will stick with it.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

