The CURE: d1

Day one of “6 Week Cure for the Middle Aged Middle”… my initial thought, “this is gonna suck.”

The convenience is great, no denying that. But opting for a shake instead of eggs and bacon for breakfast bites. And this “going without” is sort of triggering an obsessive outlook on food. All I could think about this afternoon was what I was having for dinner (left over turkey curry with cauliflower – SO GOOD!).

I need to figure out a way to make the shakes more filling. I don’t like the idea of using ice in it for thickness – I might as well use cardboard. But I’m going to give it a try tomorrow to see if it’s a slight of hand I can deal with.

So far, I’m using a protein powder from Defense Nutrition called Warrior Whey (though apparently they don’t have an updated image of the bottle and name on their website). I like that it is from grass-fed cows and completely free of artificial sweeteners, corn, soy, and any other junk. It’s pure whey protein powder. And I think it’s the most cost-effective protein powder I could find with a carb count under 3 grams (only about $1 per serving – many of the other one’s I looked at ran $2-$3 per serving).

What I’m really not liking is the deprivation mixed with an unhealthy preoccupation with solid food. It’s making me nervous and a little panicky (food issues anyone?). But it’s just for two weeks. I just have to suck it up for 2 weeks. I can do this. I won’t starve.

Oh, I hopped on the scale this morning for my official starting weight and I gained back a good chunk of what I’d lost when I initially went primal. I’m back up to 320.5, about 3 lbs lighter than I was in Feb/March. That’s disheartening but I’d braced myself for it and I assumed I’d bumped myself up to the 320 mark again.

So here we go again. I really want to get under 3oo lbs and I’m hoping this is a kick in the ass to get me moving towards that under 300 mark, my first goal.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

