gadget diva: poach pods

I think gadget diva will be a new occasional series brought to you by my somewhat closeted obsession with kitchen gadgets. And maybe once in a while we’ll venture outside the kitchen. But in the meantime, here is the first installment of Gadget Diva…

Poach Pods

I’ve seen poach pods in stores off and on over the last couple years and I’ve always though, “I need to try those.”

Well, when I started contemplating getting my primal journey traveling again I thought about eggs and how I wanted to experiment with them. I immediately flashed to the movie Julie & Julia and wished with all my heart that I had the skill to poach an egg. I don’t. I’ve tried a few times and I just can’t get it together. And then I remembered these funny little silicone kitchen gadgets I’d seen around.

This was about a month ago and in my enthusiasm I rushed out to the local store where I’d first seen them. Of course, they were out of stock and the store clerk had no idea how soon they’d be available again. I returned home, hopes dashed and impulsive leap halted. My poached egg venture was stalled.

But never one to let an impulse die quickly, I hopped on the internets and began googling these little silicone wonders. In the end Amazon (how much do I love this store?) had them at the best price and I added them to my cart. Apparently I got distracted and never finished the transaction so the next time I signed into my amazon account I discovered them waiting patiently in my cart.

That was remedied in about 10 minutes with a couple books thrown in for good measure and I’m happy to report they arrived today. I immediately opened the box, washed the their wiggly green cuteness, smeared them with a little coconut oil and boiled water. I cracked an egg into each pod and then settled them into the water.

First time around I cooked the eggs for 7 minutes so the yolks were harder. I popped the eggs out of the pod into a bowl, sprinkled salt and pepper on them, and devoured (seriously, they were maybe in the bowl 1 minute).

They were so good I made two more, this time using butter, and cooked them for 4 minutes so I’d have a runny yolk. So so so so yummy!!! I’m even contemplating a third batch.

Notes on the Poach Pod (from Fusion Brands website):

The poachpod® is a flexible silicone cooking tool for poaching eggs, baking and molding. The poachpod® allows you to float and poach an egg in boiling water like a lily pad on a pond. When the egg is ready, flip the nonstick pod inside out and gently push the perfectly domed shaped egg out. Place the pod in the dishwasher for easy clean up.

Some stuff you should know:

  • Heat-resistant to 675°F / 357°C
  • FDA food-safe silicone
  • Nonstick
  • Microwave and dishwasher safe
  • Flexible
  • Set of 2 (1 dark and 1 light green)
  • 3″ diameter x 1.5″ depth

I highly recommend Poach Pods – total fan. I’m going to experiment with other items and I’ll let you know how they turn out. I’ll also be buying another set very soon. I’m thinking they might make suitable ramekins for creme brule.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

