sausage and apple stuffing

Back in January a friend had me over and fixed Roast Duck with Sausage and Apple Stuffing from Mastering the Art of French Cooking by Julia Child. It was AMAZING!

It was the first time I recall ever eating duck and I’ll definitely be eating duck again. But the AMAZING part was the sausage and apple stuffing. YUM!

About a month ago I had a hankering for this stuffing and decided to try it out as a stand alone dish, especially since I’m not sure where I can get duck in my area in the middle of the summer without breaking a few laws.

The result was a succulant, AMAZING dish that I inhaled. So AMAZING!

Have I mentioned it’s AMAZING!?

I did tweak the dish to make it a little more primal friendly – at least balancing out the fruit and meat servings. Give it a whirl!

Ingredients

  • 1 lb. ground pork sausage (regular flavoring, sage could also work), browned
  • 2 medium apples (I like fuji), cored and chopped into appx 1 inch pieces
  • 1/2 Tbsp honey
  • 1/4 Tsp Cinnamon
  • 1/4 Tsp Salt
  • 1/4 Tsp Sage
  • 2 Tbsp Cognac
  • 1/4 C Port
  • 1/4 C Beef Stock

Directions

  1. Brown sausage and set aside in a bowl, reserving fat in the saute pan.
  2. Add 1/2 tsp of honey to the reserved fat and heat.
  3. Core and slice apples into 1-inch chunks and saute in the honey/fat mixture until lightly browned and almost tender.
  4. Place the apples on a platter and sprinkle with cinnamon, salt, sage, and cognac.
  5. Wipe out saute pan and add port and beef stock, boil rapidly until liquid has reduced to 2-3 Tbsp.
  6. Pour wine reduction over the sausage.
  7. Combine apple mixture and sausage mixture.
  8. Eat!

The beauty of this dish is that it takes about 15 minutes to prepare, start to finish. It’s a great last minute go-to meal and is something that will be in my recipe box for decades to come. Perhaps the only downside is that it’s hard to stop eating it once you start. One of these days I’m going to try it with pheasant and see if they compliment each other. If I can refrain from eating too much of it before it makes it to the bird.

    You must be logged in to post a comment.

