Herb Broiled Eggs

Totally borrowing this photo from So Delushious! until I can snap my own this weekend.

It’s time to put up a new recipe since I haven’t done that in a while. A few months ago I stumbled on the blog So Delushious! and it’s amusing (okay, downright H-I-L-A-R-I-O-U-S at times) and low-carb half the time. She recently did a post on Herbed Baked Eggs and they looked SOOO yum I had to try them myself. I finally got around to trying them about 1 month ago and they’ve been my go-to eggs since then (seriously so GOOD!).

So Delushious! doesn’t give exact measurements but she got her original recipe from the Food Network. Personally I always try to follow exact measurements the first go around on recipes and then I tweak for my tastes on the remakes. Anyway… before I bore you, let’s get crackin’ in this… (seriously getting hungry for these NOW).

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh thyme leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon minced fresh rosemary leaves
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh parsley
  • 1 tablespoon freshly grated Parmesan
  • 6 extra-large eggs
  • 2 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Toasted French bread or brioche, for serving (skip if you’re doing the Paleo/Primal/Low-Carb gig)

Directions:

  1. Preheat the broiler for 5 minutes, oven rack 6 inches below the heat.
  2. Combine garlic, thyme, rosemary, parsley, and Parmesan and set aside (so I actually have never been too technical about these measurements… eyeballed it, nailed every time but that one time I accidently dumped about 2 Tbs of dried parsley in there… picked what I could out but it still overwhelmed the dish… when in doubt go easy on the parsley). Oh, I only had fresh thyme on hand so I used dried herbs for the rest of it and reduced measurements… by eyeballing it. Maybe I need to take back that statement about following recipes closely the first time… recipes are just guidelines anyway, right? But now I feel an urge to buy all fresh herbs for this and give it a whirl. I think that will be one of my weekend projects. Yes. Yes it will. But I digress…
  3. Crack eggs into a separate bowl or two, divided up the way you’re going to cook them (eggs divided between two smaller dishes or all together in a bit larger dish).
  4. Place 2 individual gratin dishes/ramekins on a baking sheet (or one larger casserole dish). Place 1 tablespoon of cream and 1/2 tablespoon of butter (so honestly, there’s usually more butter and cream in mine) in each dish and place under the broiler for about 3 minutes, until hot and bubbly and butter is starting to brown.
  5. Quickly pour the eggs into the dish(es) and sprinkle evenly with the herb mixture, then sprinkle liberally with salt and pepper (I keep forgetting the salt and pepper… haven’t missed it).
  6. Place back under the broiler for 5 minutes, until the whites of the eggs are almost cooked. (this takes longer in my oven… maybe 7 min).
  7. The eggs will continue to cook after you take them out of the oven. Allow to set for 60 seconds and serve hot with toasted bread.

So there you have it. Amazingness. And it only takes about 10 minutes start to finish. Oh… bonus addition, add some freshly cooked, crumbled up bacon to the eggs. My motto, bacon makes everything better… and it makes these eggs life altering.

Update: I set out to make these eggs for brunch and discovered I was out of Parmesan. NOOOOOOOO!! The HORROR! I dug through the fridge taking stock of what cheese’s were available. Mozzarella? Eh. Pepper jack? No. Cheddar? Hell No. Feta? Hmmm. Feta it was. Turned out equally divine. So if you find yourself in such a conundrum, feta is a great alternative and depending on your mood, possibly the better alternative. It was SUPERB! Will be using feta pretty regularly for this recipe from now on.

You must be logged in to post a comment.

