Smug Alert!

You know how when you’re in a grocery store and you see someone’s cart with a lot of processed junk food in it and you think to yourself, “no wonder you’re fat” or “keep eating that way you’re gonna be fat” or “so not fair that you can eat that crap and not be fat” or “ticking time bomb” … ?

Yeah, that makes us assholes. All-around. No if’s, and’s, or but’s.

After about 3 years of hovering around Paleo/Primal blogs and devouring everything (but apparently forgetting to actually DO the stuff) I’ve noticed there is definitely an elitist attitude among the group. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not everyone… it might not even be half, but it’s there and when those people speak, it’s loud, and a whole lot of people chime in.

I understand the urge to stand there and judge… to climb up on my high horse, because I’VE got it ALL figured out. I mean, SERIOUSLY, if everyone else would just listen to ME then the world would be SUCH a better place (please read with a ridiculous amount of sarcasm… and then double it).

I catch myself being the douche described in paragraph one… too often. Sometimes I even direct it towards my family. Me. Being judgy about diet. Me. Who’s carrying a ridiculous amount of extra weight. Pot, meet kettle.

This isn’t right. It’s not right for me to pass judgment on others when I see only a tiny glimpse of their life. I’m hardly one to be passing judgement and I despise when other people pass judgement on me after catching only a glimpse of my life. No one knows the details of my life or what particular hurdle I’ve faced that day, making me lax in the quality riding around in my shopping cart.

I would like a little grace and compassion from strangers and if they can’t do that, I’d like them to mind their own businesses. Which really gets to the heart of it for me: what I eat is nobody’s business but my own. As much as I might want to control or cajole other people into eating healthy, it’s not my place. It’s especially not my place when I’m not even living up to my own dietary expectations. We all know the “do as I say, not as I do” bs won’t fly.

If I hope for grace from others, then I need to show grace to others. And if I want people to mind their own business, I need to mind my own. I’m challenging myself to be better about this… to show grace to others even if my standards aren’t met. And really, someday I hope my standards won’t even come into play and that I can embody love and grace without any effort on my part.

Are you looking in other people’s carts at the grocery store? Do you worry other’s are looking at the contents of your cart? Any idea what the title of this post comes from? Anyone? Enter Southpark… hilarious!

Smug Alert!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

